Red Cabbage Slaw

What to do with this beautiful red cabbage? Turn it into slaw!

IMG_3386

I borrowed some inspiration from online recipes including nom nom paleo and the garden of eating.  As with all of my cooking, I used what I had on hand which means my version is unlikely to exactly match to any other recipe (this is sometimes an awesome experiment and sometimes a sure way to know what I’m missing)!

IMG_3387

When cooking at home I prefer to use a wood cutting board and typically stick to maple or bambu for all of my chopping.  Just like my motto for food I love using tools provided from mother nature vs a lab!

IMG_3390

I am drawn to bright colors and find it nearly impossible to walk past a red cabbage without snatching it up! And then there are carrots which just happen to be  my favorite color.  Slaw is a perfect cool summer dish that combines both of these irresistibly colorful veggies.

IMG_3391

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 Red Cabbage, Chopped
  • 2 Carrots, Shredded
  • 1/4 Red Onion, Sliced
  • 2 Limes, Juiced (zested if desired)
  • 2 Tbsp Honey
  • 1/4 cup Olive Oil
  •  1/8 cup White Wine Vinegar
  • S&P to Taste

Place Cabbage, Carrots, and Onion into a large bowl. Mix Lime Juice, Honey, Olive Oil, and Vinegar until honey is fully dissolved.  Stir dressing over veggies and at S&P to taste. “Slaw” can be eaten immediately or left to marinate.  I love crunchy textures but the softening of the cabbage while it marinates and melds with the flavors of the dressing make this slaw get better and better with time.

IMG_3394

The great thing about slaw is that it is tasty for a few days and it can change shape easily- eat it as a side or add it to a green salad, tacos, tuna salad, and more!

Simple no-cook dish.

Leave a Reply

